Withholding your telephone number means that it won’t be displayed to the person you’re calling.
You can ask us to permanently withhold your number, or you can choose to withhold it yourself on a call-by-call basis.
Both services are free of charge.
On individual calls
Just dial 141 before the telephone number you want to call.
Withhold your number on all of your calls
To permanently withhold your number on all calls:
On BT Digital Voice
You'll need to log into your MyBT account and follow these steps:
- Enter your phone number and email address, then select Continue.
- Scroll down to the 'Privacy' section and select Remove.
- At the bottom of the page, select Continue.
- You’ll see an overview of your request. Select Checkout.
- Confirm your email address and choose Continue.
- Finally, agree to the terms and conditions and then select Place Order.
On BT Home Phone Standard
You'll need to call us.
To release a permanently withheld number
If you choose to withhold your number on all calls, you might want to release it if you're calling your doctor or a business. Some of them won't accept a call if the number's withheld. You can do this by entering 1470 before the number you wish to call.